Film Festivals

Official Selections:

HFF (Hamilton Film Festival): November 2015

  • Nominated for Best Actress
  • Nominated for Best Feature
  • Won Best Cinematography prize

BIFF (Big Island Film Festival):
Friday, May 27, 7:30pm
http://www.bigislandfilmfestival.com/wp/?page_id=84

NIFF (Niagara International Film Festival):
Sunday, June 19, 2016 at 1:30pm, Film House, FirstOntario Performing Arts Centre,  St. Catharines, Ontario 
https://niagarafilmfest.com/films/17-canadian/31-the-bad-mother

  

Press Coverage So Far...

EZ ROCK - Kootenay Boundary - May 20, 2016
Radio interview with Sarah Kapoor about filming in Creston BC.
http://kootenays.myezrock.com/blogfeed/2016/05/19/sarah-kapoor---creston-filmaker

Global TV - May 8, 2016
Mother’s Day tv clip with Sarah Kapoor about not being an actuarian.
http://globalnews.ca/video/2688205/bad-mother-movie

Metro News - May 6, 2016
Nationwide article about The Bad Mother movie.
http://www.metronews.ca/entertainment/2016/05/05/sarah-kapoor-looks-at-mother-struggles-in-bad-mother.html

CBC
Article about the movie and Kickstarter campaign http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/hamilton/news/hamilton-film-the-bad-mother-a-good-look- at-life-for-working-moms-1.3049043

Hamilton Spectator
Front page mention and cover of Arts section for premiere http://www.thespec.com/whatson-story/6063866-starring-hamilton-weeklong-festival- promotes-hometown-films-and-filmmakers/

Masala Mommas
Review of the film
http://masalamommas.com/2015/11/03/what-is-the-bad-mother-a-film-review/

Creston Valley Advance
Article about Sarah Kapoor
http://badmothermovie.com/wp-content/uploads/2016/04/Creston-Valley-Advance.pdf

They Roar
Interview with Sarah and David
http://theyroar.com/2015/04/feature-friday-the-bad-mother-video-qa/

CHCH morning show
Interview with David J. Fernandes
http://www.chch.com/hamilton-film-festival-preview/

Slash Film

Kickstarter Trailer review
http://www.slashfilm.com/this-week-in-trailers-shake-the-dust-born-in-china-just-about- famous-love-at-first-fight-the-bad-mother/

 

Quotes

“If you’ve ever wondered if you’re ‘leaning’ in the right direction, you must see The Bad Mother!

I love it because it challenges the unspoken code of motherhood (not to tell anyone the ways you feel disappointed…) Even our own mothers won’t utter the words. It is wonderfully authentic, vulnerable, and speaks honestly to paradox and imperfect trade offs that inevitably come with being a parent in the modern world.

Ditch your kids, and watch it with your friends! Better yet, see it with your own mom!”

Beth Hanson Fox
Working mom

 

“I brought this film in for a conference and watched this with a room full of women. Normally we bring in more Hollywood movies, and I wasn’t sure how they would react to something that didn’t have real actors. Their reaction surprised me. The LOVED the film. Personally I was surprised the lead wasn’t an actress, she was very good!”

Kelly Hayes
Coordinator of Women and Equity Issues Elementary Teachers Federation of Ontario

 

“I laughed, I cried, I peed a little.”

Lana Stace-Smith
Kickstarter supporter and mom

 

“For those that are parents, were parents or have parents this is a hilarious and poignant must-see about the trials and tribulations of raising children.”

 Jamie Broughton
Father, North America’s Emerging Leader Specialist

 

“I would watch it again five times.”

 Hanna Bech
Musician

“The intervention is priceless.”

 Nance Ackerman
Filmmaker

 

"I loved this movie. Really. I'm going to watch it again. I'm so impressed with the human depth, the light hearted, spontaneous humour, the over the top humour, the tight plot arc, the production level amazing -drone shots, Rube Goldberg opening shot. All done on a tight budget. But most of all it drew me in, held me and made me care. Well done."

Corey O’Wells
Father of two


"This is a comedy made by a real family with their real friends. Being true to their personalities makes this a real gem of a flick because the tenderness and honesty, and the scenes of kids being kids, and grown ups being a big hot mess, are so easy to relate to. We laughed and cried and held hands tightly (perfect date night choice). I'd also love to watch this with my mum, and all of my pals!"

Maggie OC
Working Mom

Share